Exhibition: “The Poetry of Memory” – Rethymnon 21st September – 31st January

The Contemporary Art Museum of Crete inaugurates on Friday, September 21st 2018 its brand new production entitled The Poetry of Memory.
The exhibition’s title is connected with the issue of memory which is the main subject of the artworks created by the exhibition’s curator, Mr. Eleftherios Ikonomou and 16 more artists.
The aforementioned exhibition has been organized by courtesy of the Region of Crete.
Contemporary Art Museum of Crete
WHEN: Exhibition opening: Friday, 21st September
Kara Mousha Pasha Mosque, at 19:00
Contemporary Art Museum of Crete, at 20:00

WHERE: Kara Mousha Pasha Mosque, Arkadiou & V. Hugo junction, Rethymnon
and
Contemporary Art Museum of Crete, 32 Mesologhiou Str., Rethymnon

Both the issue and importance given to memory have been looked into within all scopes of human thought and creation and many philosophers, philologists, therapists and art people have been concerned with this issue.

Three generations of Greeks are taking part in the exhibition; all of them having travelled and lived for a long period of time in the countries of Northern Europe and mainly in Berlin. After a long-lasting experience and research, these artists went from the process of real facts and fictions, stored it, looked upon the future and created artworks placing a great importance on their present life.

The exhibitions’ artworks are a combination of different trends being expressed through the art of painting, the photographic printings and the installations.
For the present exhibition, a bilingual catalogue is available.
The exhibition will last until January 31st. Moreover, guided tours and educational programs will be held.

The following mentioned artists will take part in theThe Poetry of Memory exhibition:
Antonakis (Christodoulou, www.antonakis.org), Blind Adam (Thanos Kyriakides, www.blindadamvision.com), Christina Dimitriadis (www.christinadimitriadis.com), Dionisis Kavallieratos (www.dionisiskavallieratos.com), Giorgos Lagoudianakis (www.giorgoslagoudianakis.blogspot.gr), Sifis Lykakis (www.sifislykakis.de), Giannis Markopoulos (www.markopoulos.de), David Benforado (www.davisbenforado.com), Christos Bouronikos (www.bouronikos.de), Lila Polenaki (www.lilapolenaki.com), Maria Polyzoidou (www.mariapolyzoidou.com), Vasileia Stylianidou (www.stylianidou.com), Evanthia Tsantila (www.evanthiatsantila.com), Dimitris Tzamouranis http://www.galeriemichaelhaas.de/de/kuenstler/dimitris-tzamouranis), Panos Famelis (www.panosfamelis.com), Socrates Fatouros (http://facebook.com/socratesfatouros).

CONTACT:
CONTEMPORARY ART MUSEUM OF CRETE
Community Enterprise of the Municipality of Rethymnon
32 Mesologhiou str., 74131, Rethymnon
Τ: +30 28310 52530, F: +30 28310 52689
E-mail: info@cca.gr • http\\:www.cca.gr

Lydia

I'm Austrian living in Tavronitis, love nature, music, good books, sunsets, the sea, travelling, socializing and more. I came to Crete as a student in the early 70s, exploring the west and southwest of the island with friends by motorbike. When you are young everything is important and, there are lots of things to do...I did. Job, family,children, travelling the world. But I never lost my love for Crete for a minute. And six years ago I ended up in this convenient corner of Crete, not only for holidays, but to stay and haven't regretted it for a minute.